Looking through Brokenness to Healing

If I counted the times throughout my life I was hurt, rejected and cast off, I could say I was broken daily. The world will do that to you. It breaks you. It tears you up inside. It makes you choose sides. city-1868530_1920

We watch five minutes of news and see the travesties, the hopelessness, the wicked ambitions. Innocent suffer. The world seems to be falling apart in pieces that cannot mend.

We see no way out. We wonder why things happen the way they do. Our emotions rip us from the inside out, then tear our minds into shards of confusion trying to make sense of it all.

Isaiah 12:2 Surely God is my salvation; I will trust and not be afraid. The Lord, the Lord, is my strength and my song; he has become my salvation.

We see very clear we are broken. We may see no way out. No help coming. We question God in everything we experience in life, aching to see answers and provision, healing.

Sometimes God allows us to be broken. And it’s okay if we break. alone-2666433_1920

Exodus 33:14 My presence will go with you, and I will give you rest.

God picks up the pieces with a patient expertise only his master craftsmanship can heal.

He is constant. Always working toward a path to give us healing. He sees roadblocks as opportunities. Pain as conditioning. He will use hardships to teach us perseverance, lessons in disguise.

So the world is broken, but aren’t we all?

Some of the most gorgeous windows were ones broken to make stained glass. Glass is deliberately made in sheets, then broken into pieces. Chunks of disaster. Hopeless messes.

Aren’t we all hopeless messes without a maker to turn us into masterpieces? adult-1869621_1920

Psalm 9:9-10 The Lord is a refuge for the oppressed, a stronghold in times of trouble.

We say: “Ah Lord I can’t do this anymore.” And he speaks in a whisper through the brokenness: “Ah, but I already have a plan through your brokenness, I have you. You are mine. I will take these broken pieces and bless them.”

The world may be broken, but God is not.

John 14:27 Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.

Leave a comment